• 2 Post By DeliciousMalk
  • 1 Post By WoodenSaucer

Thread: Gaming Laptop

Nintendo NID
    Satsedude
    Other Gamer IDs

Gamertag: NewbCentra1

Gaming Laptop

To start, I'm a complete noob when it comes to PCs, laptops, their parts and what they do. I wouldn't really be interested if my current laptop worked just fine. However, after it overheated and crashed on me twice just trying to play Payday 2, I've decided that I think it's time for me to look into possibly building my own gaming laptop/PC. I would want something ideally between $200-500. However, I don't need anything top of the line. At max, I would want something that could play Skyrim on high settings just fine. However, since I know there are quite a few PC enthusiasts around here, I figured I'd ask for advice.

My first question: is it even possible to build your own gaming laptop? Everywhere I've seen seems to suggest you can build your own gaming desktop, but I haven't seen laptop yet (maybe I haven't looked hard enough). Second, what parts would you recommend for a mid-tier gaming laptop?

P.S.: As an aside, I am not against learning what parts do what and their importance if it helps my decision-making.

Wii U NNID: Satsedude

Nintendo NID
    SW-5693-2145-0811
    Isn't it better to buy a finished laptop?
    I only trust pros when putting together things. I used like half a day just to put together a wardrobe...
    Twitter: MatboksenYT
    Instagram: MatboksenYT

NNID: MysteryT
    Switch:
    SW-5693-2145-0811

It is possible to build your own laptop but I don't recommend that at all. The form factor of it all is very impractical for anyone not physically engineering the thing themselves.

for a mid-tier gaming laptop I'd probably be looking at an i5 processor, at least 8GB of RAM minimum (pref 16, ram is cheap but laptop manufacturers really get you with that... 16 is much more future proof though) and any sort of actually dedicated graphics card inside, not integrated.